The last-round GT3 drama

The WSS GT3 endurance championship ended this Sunday with 111 participants in the championship. The final stage took place on the Nordschleife, where participants had to cover 1360 turns in eight laps.

In the last stage, we missed the leaders of the championship, the Polish Jakub Charkot, and the German Jan Nimz had secured TOP2 positions even before the start of the last stage. However, five participants fought for third place in the championship until the last stage, there was only a few points difference between Harold Jotautas, Ethan Dean, Domantas Ladauskas, Tauras Gudinavičius, and Simonas Urbonas.

In the qualification, the POLE position was won by Ethan Dean with a lap 08:25.429. Domantas Ladauskas, a representative of the Dream 2 Drive team, made a lap with only one-tenth behind. Tauras Gudinavičius started third. 

The start of the race and the first laps guaranteed action until the very end of the race. The qualification trio created a series of actions in each lap divided into tenths of a second. Halfway through the race, there was an incident between the race leaders – E. Dean and D. Ladauskas, just before Antoniusbuche’s turn, had an incident. In this situation, E. Dean, who fell to 10th position after the incident, suffered the most. 

Another huge surprise and at the same time big drama is the newcomer to the championship – American John Cannon. Another alien, who had a great pace to fight for the podium, lost all hope by a mistake kissing the PIT entry wall.

The incident between D. Ladauskas and E. Dean allowed T. Gudinavičius to catch the leader and stick to the back of the teammate till the end of the race. Tauras finished crossed the finish line second at a distance of +00:00.259 from the teammate.

The amazing performance and third place went for another Lithuanian Simonas Urbonas, with a mint Mclaren GT3.

E.Dean and his come back performance probably blew the hearts of all the spectators. By the end of the race, the participant was able to recover to the fourth position and fixed the fastest lap time. However, the points of this position were not enough to establish themselves in third place of the season.

Immediately after the finish, we went to E.Dean to get a comment about the incident between him and D. Ladauskas.

 – Ethan, please tell us, what is your reaction to this racing incident? Will you file a driver protest?

– It’s an extremely unfortunate way to end what was easily my most promising weekend in WSS GT3 thus far. I had the pace to go for the win, a win which would have sealed me into third overall, but it is what it is. These things happen. It’s hard not to feel robbed, but Domantas accepted the blame so I chose to rescind any protest; since Gudinavicius and Urbonas finished ahead of me it would be little more than petty revenge anyway. I’m not about that.”

It’s amazing for us as a platform to see drivers’ attitudes toward other drivers, and this situation shows that WSS users are racers with soul. Thank you all for this amazing championship finish and in the next news, we will take an interview with the GT3 Championship winners. Stay tuned!

Final round DIV 1 results:

PosDriverGap Best lapIncLapsSeries PtsRating
 Domantas Ladauskas68:22.07808:25.63618 (8)251473 (+45)
 Tauras Gudinavicius+00:00.25908:24.32838 (8)181520 (+30)
 Simonas Urbonas+00:18.75508:26.60348 (8)151559 (+16)
 Ethan Dean+00:32.14008:23.91338 (8)121569 (+6)
 Grantas Kareckas+00:48.84608:31.34718 (8)101441 (+19)
 Ozgur Benzes+01:06.64008:32.21608 (8)81245 (+50)
 Jurij Lapo+01:08.76108:33.01938 (8)61311 (+28)
 Laurynas Razas+01:24.87308:28.01538 (8)41398 (+3)
 Rand Renwar+01:56.56308:36.61738 (8)21095 (+56)
10  Karolis Vilčinskas+02:47.36408:35.573108 (8)11127 (+42)
11  Aivaras Vaitiekūnas+03:07.70908:46.65118 (8)01213 (+16)
12  Mauro Teja+04:34.61108:49.54098 (8)01176 (+16)
13  Svajūnas Budra+04:41.89508:53.21878 (8)01015 (+39)
14 Justas PirinauskasDNF08:30.34507 (7)01414 (-48)
15 Vilmantas VanagasDNF08:41.36457 (7)01159 (-4)
16 Vincas ZaleckisDNF08:59.84497 (7)01049 (+9)
17 Haroldas JotautasDNF08:31.90046 (6)01418 (-73)
18 Justinas SaldukasDNF08:30.80595 (5)01285 (-55)
19 Laurynas ZopelisDNF08:42.658135 (5)01027 (-11)
20 John CannonDNF08:30.25113 (3)01010 (-16)
21 Mindaugas SurvilaDNF08:54.389113 (3)01265 (-75)
22 Arnas ŠleivysDNF__:__:___10 (0)01106 (-50)
23 Filip VaysmanDNF__:__:___80 (0)01014 (-41)

Overall season TOP30

1 Jakub Charkot1005666
2 Jan Nimz862565
3 Domantas Ladauskas671265
4 Tauras Gudinavicius660476
5 Haroldas Jotautas560385
6 Simonas Urbonas540287
7 Ethan Dean490177
8 Martynasm Morkism451355
9 Simon Kovacic402232
10 Ozgur Benzes401155
11 Tadas Dovidaitis380288
12 Grantas Kareckas380088
13 Karolis Vilčinskas291286
14 Svajūnas Budra290188
15 Aurimas Stecenka271155
16 Ovidijus Latoza260255
17 Victor Brill250132
18 Filip Vaysman231142
19 Domantas Varnys220077
20 Johan Seminario201131
21 Joaquin Jimenez201111
22 Ignacio Lanero200284
23 Laurynas Razas180033
24 Rand Renwar160165
25 Mauro Teja130186
26 Augustas Sleiva130132
27 Anthony Tittershill110054
28 Vilmantas Vanagas100143
29 Andrius Švitra100121
30 Sebastian Bjorkholm100111

Leave a Reply