Edvinas Žadeikis triumph in Ahvenisto

Round 2 in Ahvenisto track in E-BaTCC series on World Sim Series platform was really eventful as planned by around 40 000 viewers behind the TV or computer screens – great battles on the track and sadly also a lot of crashes, as the track is narrow and every mistake costs dearly. 37 drivers from five countries lined up on the grid.

Tauras Gudinavicius, the fastest guy in Pre Q, proved his speed also in Qualifying, putting himself on the pole, followed by Edvinas Zadeikis and Karolis Jovaisa. The level of competition was really high, as the top 15 was covered by less than 2 seconds.

In race 1, Gudinavicius made a good start quickly starting to build a gap over followers. Karolis Jovaiša settled in second place, while Edvinas Žadeikis had a spectacular battle with Haroldas Jotautas, nice and clean. Žadeikis coming home third, half a second in front of Jotautas. Kārlis Ozoliņš finished the TOP5 coming home just behind Jotautas, while Dāvis Bite was just half a second behind Ozoliņš. As Bite got a penalty after the race Agnis Rozītis was promoted to 6th place.

Race 1 Top 10 finisher, BaTCC driver Tuomas Halonen started race 2 from Pole but lost the lead until the first corner, where all the drivers couldn’t fit in and some accidents occurred that really shuffled the grid order. Mareks Štolcermanis was lucky to escape the collisions in Turn 2 taking the lead and followed by Dāvis Bite, Tuomas Halonen, and Edvinas Zadeikis. A contact in Lap 2 between Bite and Štolcermanis gave a nice opportunity for Žadeikis to take the lead and he never looked back claiming a dominant win. Although Karolis Jovaiša fought back to finish second, after the race he was penalized and relegated to 3rd, giving back position no 2 to Dāvis Bite. Mareks Štolcermanis and Tuomas Halonen rounded up the TOP5.

The event was won by Edvinas Žadeikis with 37 points, who also receive the chance to test drive the BMW 325 CUP car in Audruring in Summer 2021. Karolis Jovaiša was second and Tauras Gudinavicius third.

13 drivers lined up for the Division 2 races. Horens Korbergs won race 1, while Estonian Romet Reisin won the second, granting him win in the round with 27 points, Korbergs was 2nd with 25 points, Eimantas Navikauskas third with 20.

The next E-BaTCC Round will take place this Sunday, November 29 at virtual Audruring. Join the PreQ!

Leave a Reply